February 5, 2002

Annual Aurora Surfing Cup Kicks-off in Baler!
Event is seen to promote tourism in the province

The Annual Aurora Surfing Cup will be held in Baler, Aurora, on 7 to 10 February 2002. It will be the opening leg of the year-long Philippine Surfing Championship Tour. The Surfing Cup is expected to generate enthusiastic response from avid surfers from all over, and is seen as a big step forward in the effort to promote surfing and tourism in the province.

The Tour is a series of surfing events that will be held in six venues all over the country. Aurora Province will be the venue of the inaugural event while the second leg will be held in Daet, Camarines Norte. The awarding will be held in December in Metro Manila.

The Aurora leg of the Tour is sponsored by Congresswoman Bellaflor J. Angara-Castillo and will have Tourism Secretary Richard Gordon as the Guest of Honor.

The Registration will be held on 7 February, and competition begins on the 8th with the Elimination Round. The various heats and the Finals will be held on the 9th of February, and the Awards Night and the Party will be on 10 February.

The organizers for this event are Vangie Palacios and Olin Duaso. For inquiries, please e-mail

<< Backto index